Essential Reading: August

If I need to take this book blogging seriously, I need to not only blog about book reviews but also about things that are related to my reading habits and whatnot. What use is a book blog if I only share to the world the books that I have read and not what kind of reader I am. So I scoured the book blogosphere and I found one idea which is to blog about the books I am going to read this month.

But before revealing my reading plan for the month of August, I want to tell you, dear reader (who have nothing else better to do than read my blog), about the books that I have read in July which are as follows:

  • The Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad (3/5)
  • The Autumn of the Patriarch by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (4/5)
  • The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro (4/5)
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell (4/5)
  • The History of Love by Nicole Krauss (4/5)

I’m quite disappointed in myself because I know that I could have read more if only I kept my eyes off the damn internet but that’s life. For August, I decided that I should have a sort of theme per month so that I can have extra motivation and to add a little spice to my reading this month. The theme for the month is books written by Filipino authors since this month is Buwan ng Wika and this would be the perfect time to honor my country’s writers.

  • That Kind of Guy by Mina Esguerra: I normally don’t read chick-lit but Mina was the guest of our book club this month and I think that should at least honor her by reading her works. Plus she is a Filipino author so she is included in this month’s task of reading Filipino authors.
  • Ilustrado by Miguel Syjuco: Winner of the Man Asian Literary Prize and of the Palanca Award, this novel is bound to be a classic of Philippine literature and, if not a classic, at least a worthwhile read for Filipinos everywhere.
  • Reportage on Lovers by Nick Joaquin/Quijano de Manila: I bought this book from NBS for 45 pesos, which is a steal for a book of this pedigree. This is a collection of Nick Joaquin’s nonfiction stories about lovers that made headlines.
  • Gagamba by F. Sionil Jose: F. Sionil Jose is a National Artist and therefore a National Treasure. It would be a pleasure to read his work.
  • Noli Me Tangere by Jose Rizal: This is it. The end of all Filipino Literature. This may not be the best written Filipino novel but it certainly is the greatest and most influential. It would be fun and fulfilling reading this for the 2nd time.

Well, that’s my Essential Reading List for August. As they say, love your own.

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Essential Reading: August”
  1. Ilustrado! This book garnered mixed reviews. Will wait for your verdict. 😀

  2. Monique says:

    Good luck with Ilustrado! Just thinking about it makes my head ache already. LOL. 🙂

Leave a Reply

