Hooliganism: Book OCD and Lack of Shelf Space

I think that I have a sickness when it comes to buying books and my need to synchronize the edition of my books with each other. You see, whenever I go to Fullybooked or NBS, I see portions of shelves where books have the same spines whether it be a DeLillos with the same black spines published by Picador or the red spines of Vintage classics and I say to myself that someday I want to have a bookshelf where there is a unity to the spines. Needless to say, I started buying books that is part of the same collection if I can afford it and, if I can’t, I save up for them.

Buying books and hoarding them is my only vice and books that is part of the same collection is the ultimate drug. I get a high whenever I buy books that will complement or that will start a collection. Quite recently, I have been buying Melville House’s Art of the Novella series and Penguin Mini Modern Classics in order to start a collection of not-so-well-known novellas by famous authors. As of this moment, I have the novellas of Proust, Fitzgerald, Joyce, Conrad, and James. I will have to read them soon so I can justify my hoarding.

On a similar note, I have a weakness for Penguin Deluxe Classics and Vintage Classics. I make it a point to save up and buy a book that is part of either collection every once in a while and delight in the fact that they all look so good together. Plus I also dream of collecting the vast oeuvre of the NYRB classics and I already started with my two measly titles namely The Old Man and Me by Elaine Dundy and Journey into the Past by Stefan Zweig. But NYRBs are rare in our local bookstores and they are quite expensive so I think that I will have to start buying them later in my life assuming, of course, that the Mayans are incorrect.

As an intermission in this post, allow me this brief moment of pride as I show you, dear reader, the fruits of my labor:

Don DeLillo by Picador

Melville House Art of the Novella Series

Penguin Mini Modern Classics

Penguin Classics Deluxe Editions (Not Pictured: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen)

Vintage Classics (Not Pictured: A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood)

NYRB Classics

As a consequence of all this book hoarding of collections (not to mention the plain book hoarding that I do), I now have a lack of space in which I can keep my books. I think my desk is slowly breaking due to the weight of the books that I place on its back. See for yourself:

This is just all the books that I have bought in the past year. I might need to move them back to Bicol soon or else I will start dumping my books in my bed, in my closet, and in my floor.

Comments
13 Responses to “Hooliganism: Book OCD and Lack of Shelf Space”
  1. Peter S. says:

    We have the same book fetishes! I collect Penguin, especially the deluxe editions. I think I posted a photo on my blog. And I love the Penguin English Library editions too!

    As for the NYRB, yes, they’re quite rare, but I managed to collect some. I think I already have more than 30 titles! Hehehehe. Of course, reading them is another matter.

    • Yes! The Penguin English Library editions have such beautiful spines and covers. I think I’m going to start collecting them when I have a bookshelf already. As of this moment, I don’t have space for them yet.

      I’m both jealous and glad that you have amasses 30 NYRBs!

  2. Monique says:

    I have only one thing to say: you need a bookshelf. Haha!

  3. Monique says:

    Make that two, and I will also address Peter this time: my very first NYRB read will be Stoner. Whether or not I will collect them will depend a lot on this novel. So, wish me luck. :))

  4. When I still didn’t have a bookshelf, my books fell all over me. Now I need an extra bookshelf.

    I also want to buy selected NYRB Classics. I have listed them down, the ones that I like, but sadly, I couldn’t find them at our local bookstores.

  5. jzhunagev says:

    Beautiful, beautiful books!

    But shit man, you have Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle! Color me green! 🙂

Leave a Reply

