Book Lust: January 2013

“New year, new books” is now my favorite saying every New Year even if I just made it out of thin air to suit my book hoarding purposes. Anyway, I was doing fine with my new year’s resolution of limiting myself from hoarding books until I visited NBS, Fullybooked, and Booksale. To be fair, some of the books are Rhena’s but majority of the books that will be listed here are mine. Here are my book buys for the month of January (even though there are about 16 more days before the month ends):

January2013

  • Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra – I sort of liked That Kind of Guy so I think supporting this local author and this particular book is a worthwhile endeavor. 
  • Auggie Wren’s Christmas Story by Paul Auster – I already read this because this was a part of The Ecco Book of Christmas Stories that I read last December but I couldn’t resist buying the illustrated version plus it was a bargain.
  • On Love by Alain de Botton – This is Rhena’s book and she has taken a particular interest in Alain de Botton’s work and, upon scanning it, it piqued my interest as well.
  • The Summer Without Men by Siri Hustvedt – Another book of Rhena’s that she bought in lieu of a collection of essays by the same author. She has taken particular interest in Hustvedt because one of her favorite bloggers seems to like Hustvedt and I have taken particular interest because Hustvedt is the wife of Paul Auster.
  • The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros – Another book of Rhena’s that she bought upon my prodding that she takes interest in contemporary feminist literature although, truth be told, I am not really an authority on feminist literature and I just want to read a book by Cisneros.
  • Man Walks Into A Room by Nicole Krauss – After reading The History of Love, I have been interested in acquiring and reading Krauss’ other works  but her books are elusive until I found this one.
  • Ghostwritten by David Mitchell – I rated Cloud Atlas with 5 stars. I rated The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet with 5 stars. I don’t think I have to explain further why I bought this.
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera – Rhena and I will be moderating our first book club discussion this July and this particular book has a chance of being the discussion material so I have to prepare and read this in the chance that this book shall win.
  • The Believers by Zoe Heller – I read somewhere that this is a fine book about a dysfunctional family so when I saw this at Booksale, I bought it.
  • Hunger by Knut Hamsun – Aside from being a book by a Nobel laureate and being one of the favorite books of a fellow bookish friend, this particular edition comes with an introduction from Paul Auster. It’s a literary trifecta that I can’t ignore.
  • A Question of Heroes by Nick Joaquin – Nick Joaquin is my favorite Filipino writer and history is one of my favorite subjects. To see Nick Joaquin deconstruct our view of heroes and present an alternative view is a sign of good read.

There you have it, folks, my book hoard for the month of January. I will be significantly cutting back on my acquisitions in the next few months in order to rein in my obsession with books. Until next time!

Comments
7 Responses to “Book Lust: January 2013”
  1. Peter S. says:

    Hi, Bennard! You’ve started 2013 on a book-buying spree! Woot woot!

    Our book club will be discussing Unbearable Lightness of Being, as a lot of the members are curious about it. So that’s something I’m looking forward to.

    I love Alain de Botton especially his nonfiction books which are heavy on philosophical ideas. On Love, while being fiction, still has a lot of these philosophical elements that de Botton is well known for. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    • Hi, Peter! I always start the year with a book-buying spree.:D It’s a tradition that I intend to uphold for years to come.:D

      When are you going to discuss Unbearable Lightness of Being? I might come if my schedule and my confidence permits.:p

      I have heard good things about Alain de Botton and On Love so I highly anticipate reading it.:)

  2. Monique says:

    Look at that. “Ghostwritten.” You might as well give it 5 stars now. 😛

    I already have “Hunger” too. I think I’ll read it with “Stoner”, perhaps March? 🙂

    • Preemptive rating! I know that I will rate this 5 stars just by reading the blurb.:D

      I want to have a copy of “Stoner”! And maybe we can read “Hunger” together if I have time to read it this March.:D

  3. Inggit! I haven’t bought anything for this year. I hope you enjoy Kundera and Hamsun. 😀

Leave a Reply

