The Midyear Review: 2014’s Best Reads So Far

I am halfway through my reading for 2014 and I must say that, in terms of overall reading, the first six months of 2014 did not disappoint. Of course, there’s the fact that I started the year with a little bit of disinterest and that I have read the two worst books that I have ever read this year (Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav and Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra) but, on the other hand, I have picked up my pace, regained my interest, and have read 39 books so far and most of them did not disappoint. In fact, most of them enthralled me in a way that only great literature can. So, just like what I did last year, I made a list of the books that have captured me in the first half of 2014:

  1. A Month in the Country by JL Carr
  2. What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver
  3. Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
  4. The Kite of Stars and Other Stories by Dean Francis Alfar
  5. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
  6. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  7. The Athenian Murders by José Carlos Somoza
  8. The Interpreter of Maladies by Jumpa Lahiri
  9. The Death of Ivan Ilyich by Leo Tolstoy
  10. Sylvia by Leonard Michaels
  11. In Persuasion Nation by George Saunders
  12. The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

Also here are some books that deserve an honorable mention:

  1. Now, Then, and Elsewhen by Nikki Alfar
  2. Blankets by Craig Thompson
  3. Civilwarland in Bad Decline by George Saunders
  4. To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
  5. The Graveyard by Marek Hlasko
  6. The Sound of Things Falling by Juan Gabriel Vasquez

And, of course, books that I could have done without:

  1.  Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav
  2. Table for Two by Marla Miniano
  3. Abangan: The Best Philippine Komiks 2014 edited by Rob Cham, Adam David, Carljoe Javier and Elbert Or
  4. Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra

My best reading year so far? Maybe. Or should I dispense with ranking and superlatives by just taking joy in the fact that I am reading and, with each book I read, become a better person for it.

Comments
3 Responses to “The Midyear Review: 2014’s Best Reads So Far”
  1. Monique says:

    *covers my eyes at the last category* LOL.

    And I’m not even going to wonder that we have favorite books in common. 😉

Leave a Reply

