BOOKLOVE: June 2014

Here’s the thing about Maryland and my situation here right now. We live pretty close to a store that sell second-hand books and I usually come over once a week. Here’s the problem, they sell books on the cheap and, on certain days, they put the books on sale or they have this absurd promo where they give you one free book if you buy two. How can I guy like me cope with a thing like that? Of course, I did the only thing that I could do which was to build a modest library in two months.

For the month of June, I bought three novels:

7

  • Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates – In all of the cases of oversight that I have had in my life, leaving my unread copy of Revolutionary Road back in the Philippines has got to be one of the most severe. I have been wanting to read in forever because I have been reading a lot of good reviews about Richard Yates’ masterpiece. When I found this in one of the bookstores that I visited in San Diego, I did not even hesitate.
  • The Groves of the Academe by Mary McCarthy – McCarthy, despite her reputation as a writer’s writer, is someone that I have not yet read. Yes, I did start reading The Oasis a few months ago but it failed to retain my attention and I moved to books that did. However, because I have not yet finished a work of hers, I am not going to dismiss her yet. Perhaps this satirical novel about the academe will change my opinion of her.
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – A gift from my godmother, this novel by John Green about two cancer-ridden teenagers have been on the forefront of everything lately because the movie just came out. I’m not really a big reader of the YA genre but I have read enough to know that the genre itself has something to offer. I do have my reservations about it but I’m more than willing to give John Green a chance.

However, despite offering a few novels that I’d be interested in, the universe made sure that I’d be neck deep in American short stories hence:

6

I came across these five babies who, let’s admit it, are all gorgeous. The Best American Short Stories series have bestowed upon me the best of the best short stories from not only the Eighties but also from the 2oth century which have been edited by Shannon Ravenel and John Updike respectively. I have also bought two short story collections that have been edited by two well-known practitioners of the form for two different publishers with Joyce Carol Oates editing The Oxford Book of American Short Stories while Tobias Woolf has edited The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Short Stories. However, Writing New York: A Literary Anthology does not exclusively contain short stories because it also has poetry and essays but its contents do tackle a central theme which is New York in the eyes of its residents.

Will there be an overlap in the short stories presented by these anthologies and, more importantly, will I have enough time to read all of my books here? Only time will tell, I’m afraid. For now, I’m content looking at them and thinking about the possibilities they hold within.

Leave a Reply

