Essential Reading: January

Well, it’s that time of the month again for my Essential Reading post. Before I begin the list for January, I will just point out that I made some changes to the way that I shall choose books. I will no longer be thematic in my choices and I shall only employ themes every now and then if I feel like it. From now on, I will choose my books based on what I really want to read so that I will not be constrained by the theme of the month.

First, my December reads:

  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl (4/5)
  • Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell (5/5)
  • The Lemoine Affair by Marcel Proust (2/5)
  • Chess by Stefan Zweig (4/5)
  • Two Gallants by James Joyce (4/5)
  • The Ecco Book of Christmas Stories edited by Alberto Manguel (4/5)

So, basically, The Lemoine Affair is the only book that I did not like among my December reads. All in all, the books that I’ve read in December were amazing especially Cloud Atlas and Chess.

Anyway, here is my Essential Reading for the first month of 2013 (I have no actual pictures since the books are in Manila and I’m still in Bicol):

Untitled

  • Any Human Heart by Willaim Boyd – This was supposed to be my last read for December but the festivities and Les Miserables got in the way. I already started the book and I already find it a good read.
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – Our book club’s monthly read for January.
  • The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster – Man in the Dark was my favorite read last 2012 so I have high hopes for this one.
  • Gilead by Marilynne Robinson – As part of my objective to read all the books given to me last year, I shall read this book that has been given to me by Monique.
  • Exile and the Kingdom by Albert Camus – Another book given to me last year (this one was given by Rhena) and I shall read this before reading The Stranger.

There you have it, my Essential Reading for the month of January.

 

Comments
10 Responses to “Essential Reading: January”
  1. Isn’t that Auster’s most famous work? I’ve seen thumbs up for it. I’ll wait what direction your thumbs will point. 🙂

  2. Monique says:

    Yay, you’re reading Gilead already! 🙂 I think I’m starting with Robinson’s Home, per suggestion of Angus. 😉

  3. Tina says:

    I have Gilead too, but I’ll probably read that sometime during the summer. 🙂 Which reminds me — thanks again for the copy of Home! Interestingly, I also received another copy of that later on, but that just means more people to pass the book around for buddy read purposes. 😀

  4. fantaghiro23 says:

    Hi! Visiting blogs I haven’t been to before.:) Anyway, Auster’s The New York Trilogy is beautiful. There’s a part in the first story that haunts me to this day. It’s about language and identity and loss. Just beautiful.

    Glad to meet a fellow Auster fan.:)

  5. Lynai says:

    Hi Bennard! 🙂 Great list to start the year! I had Gilead as a required read for December but I only came past 5 0r 6 pages and then stopped. I hope to pick it up again soon this year. 🙂

Leave a comment