BOOKLOVE: May 2013

So going here to the US, in terms of bookishness, has been better than I originally thought it would be. I found books here that I had a hard time looking for in the Philippines. Of course, if this previous post is any proof, majority of my acquisitions are short story collections (50% in fact) and the rest are evenly divided between essay collections and novels. Here they are:

May2013

  • Self-Help by Lorrie Moore – Lorrie Moore is one of the writers whose short stories I want to be familiarized with. I first read her when I encountered “How To Be Another Woman” which is included in My Mistress’s Sparrow Is Dead. This is supposedly her best collection of short stories and I’m excited to see if that claim is true.
  • Pastoralia by George Saunders – Saunders has been receiving some hype lately as his recently released short story collection, 10th of December, has received critical acclaim and is being credited for the resurgence of the short story. I also encountered one of his weirdly funny-tragic short story “Jon” from My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead. A
  • The Lazarus Project by Aleksandar Hemon – One of the books in The LA Times’ 61 Essential Postmodern Reads. The aforementioned list is one of the few list of books that I want to complete and Hemon’s is one of the books that intrigues me the most.
  • C by Tom McCarthy – What can I say? The title and the plot intrigues me. It also does not hurt that it is included in a list called “10 Books That Are Meant To Be Savored” with books that I’ve read and loved such as Gilead (Marilynne Robinson), A Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (David Mitchell), Remains of the Day (Kazuo Ishiguro), and A Visit from the Goon Squad (Jennifer Egan).
  • Teaching a Stone to Talk by Annie Dillard – This is actually a gift for Rhena for her 22nd birthday and, according to this list by Flavorwire, is one of the greatest essay collections of all time. I don’t know anything about Dillard but I’m okay with giving her a chance if only for the reason that Rhena is excited to read her works.
  • Slouching Towards Bethlehem by Joan Didion – Another gift for Rhena and another essay collection that is part of the list mentioned above. Also Didion is one of the writers that I am very curious about ever since a bookish friend mentioned one of her books as his favorite for 2012.
  • Bad Behavior by Mary Gaitskill – Another short story collection from an oft-praised writer of the form. One of the stories in this collection, “Secretary”, has been made into a feature film which I liked enough for me to be curious about the source material.
  • Wonderful Town: New York Stories from the New Yorker edited by David Remnick – New York is my dream city and it would be awesome to read about it in an anthology with works written by John Cheever, JD Salinger, Lorrie Moore, and, of course, Woody Allen.

I am a happy kid.

Comments
8 Responses to “BOOKLOVE: May 2013”
  1. Monique says:

    I can almost smell the fresh, new pages. Mmmm!

  2. Didion scares me. Just tell Rhena to be emotionally prepared if she reads her.

  3. You found “C”! Congratulations on that.
    Is the Morse Code cover only available for Kindle edition?
    Parang ang ganda kasi nung cover na ‘yun.

    Anyways, I hope you have B&N coupons for all these purchases. 🙂

    • I don’t know if they offer the Morse Code cover for paperbacks. I was looking for it but I only found the one that I have.

      They didn’t give me any coupons but I did use a coupon.:D

Leave a Reply

